top of page
  • Jordan

Most Anticipated Reads of October 2019

Hi everyone! As October draws nearer, I'm getting more and more excited for all the new books coming out this month! I'm doing my best to reach outside of my reading comfort zone with this blog, so some of these books will be new releases by old favorites and some will be completely new to me. Hopefully you'll find some hidden gems to add to your ever-growing tbr pile!


Without further ado, let's get into our first section:


Sequels



For October I've only got one sequel that I'm really excited about: The Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl by Theodora Goss. This is the third book in the The Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club series (I know, it's a mouthful). I devoured the first two books in this series earlier this year and I'm so excited to be able to read this one soon! I haven't heard many people talk about these books but they're so much fun! You should check them out if you like: historical fiction, retellings, badass women, or the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger.


Release Date: October 1



New Series


Good lord, there are so many cool new series starting in October, I'm excited but slightly terrified. If I tried to give a detailed description of all these books we'd be here for ever, so I'm going to do my best to sum them each up with just a few words.

Release Date: October 1

Release Date: October 8

Release Date: October 15

Release Date: October 8

Release Date: October 1

Release Date: October 15


Stand Alones


  • Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor: Supposedly this is like a combination of the Lunar Chronicles and Rook by Sharon Cameron (an underrated book that I literally wrote a term paper on because I love it) so I'm 200% sold.

Release Date: October 15

Release Date: October 1

  • The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys: I have loved every book Ruta Sepetys has written previously and I'm beyond excited to finally get another one! I honestly don't know much about this book because Ruta Sepetys is so solidly in my favorite authors of all time, I'm ready to dive in without any background.

Release Date: October 1

  • The Grace Year by Kim Liggett: This sounds a bit like the Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons, which I never got around to reading but always wanted to. I'm here for any an all books about women resisting oppressive systems so this one's definitely high on my list.

Release Date: October 8

Release Date: October 1

  • Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker and Wendy Xu: Everything about this book seems adorable! The main character is a teenage witch working in a bookshop that sells spellbooks and ends up discovering that her childhood crush is a werewolf and they've got to work together to defeat the forces of evil. Sign me UP!

Release Date: October 15

  • I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson: Can't finish up this list without a good old fashioned mystery. This one involves a missing girl and a small Alaskan town, which seems like the perfect combo for a spooky October read!

Release Date: October 8


Those are the books I'm most excited for next month! Do you guys agree with my picks? Did I miss any?

12 views3 comments
bottom of page