top of page
  • Jordan

September Month At A Glance

Hello and welcome my friends! I'm starting off this blogging endeavor with the most classic of all posts, my TBR for the month. There are so many exciting books coming out this month and several older books I hope to get to so let's go!



Books To Read!



Since it's the beginning of the school year and I've got lots of stuff going on right now, I decided to keep my TBR at six books. I hope I'll read more, but in between classes and work I'm not sure I'll have time. I've already started Hello Girls and I'm really enjoying it! Stay tuned for a review coming later this month. The rest of them are on my shelf right now, waiting for me to pick them up.

  • The Girl the Sea Gave Back: Tattoos? Magic? Powerful women? All very intriguing. This is one of the books I chose for my September BOTM box so I'm looking forward to getting into it.

  • Hello Girls: Like I said, I already started this one. It was my August Book of the Month and I'm really happy with my choice so far! I love Winona and Lucy (and despise the men in their lives) and I'm really excited to see where their adventure takes them!

  • The Detective's Assistant: Middle-grade! My first love! I'm so ready to leap back into a book like this, it's been too long since I read about a daring young girl challenging the norm. As I understand it, this is a bit like a Sherlock retelling, if Sherlock was an eleven-year-old orphan from the States.

  • The Masked City: This is the second book in the Invisible Library series which I fell in LOVE with earlier this summer and promptly bought all the available books from Book Outlet. It's likely that, if I read more books this month, it'll be more books from this series.

  • Nevernight: I found this for 2 dollars at a garage sale the other day and I snatched it up! I had it out from the library while I was home for the summer but didn't manage to get to it before I had to head back to school, so I'm glad another opportunity to read it came along so quickly.

  • These Witches Don't Burn: This is one of the other books in my September BOTM box. I'm tentatively excited for this one, but there's been several mediocre teenage witch books recently so I'm not setting my expectations too high.


Things To Watch!


I don't have much time to watch things, but these are my priorities for the month.

  • It Chapter Two: Ahh! I just finally watched the first movie earlier this week and I'm going to see this tonight. I'm looking forward to being absolutely terrified!

  • Schitts Creek: Okay, I'm way behind on this one. I'm nearly done with season 1 but I've got a ways to go. I may do season by season reviews but who knows!

  • She-Ra and the Princesses of Power Season 3: Yes, I know! I should have watched this literally the DAY it came out, but here I am, being terrible (I also haven't watched Stranger Things 3 yet but that's gonna have to wait a bit longer).

Music!

  • Lover: I'm pretty sure everyone and their mother is listening to this album right now, and I'm no different. I love the new vibe of this music and it's putting me in a really good mood to start the year. Current faves are I Forgot That You Existed and Paper Rings.

  • Neotheater: I've been listening to this album on repeat since I found out I'm going to see AJR in November! I'm so excited and I'm definitely going to keep listening to Neotheater (and their other albums) in anticipation.

  • Requiem: Okay, this is a weird choice but bear with me. This is the soundtrack for the Netflix show Requiem. If you haven't watched it, please do, it's so creepy and unsettling and I binged all of it in a day. I've been listening to the album a lot while studying and it's really tempting me to rewatch the show.

Podcasts!


  • My Favorite Murder: This is probably my favorite podcast of all time. I'm literally listening to an old episode as I write this. Listening to random eps is my best anxiety cure (I know it's weird) and I love Karen and Georgia. If you haven't listened to it (and like true crime and/or comedy) this is the podcast for you.

  • Blackwood: This is a radio drama style podcast I discovered in August that I've actually already finished but I thought it was worth listing. It's a really interesting concept wherein three teenagers decide to spend their summer creating a podcast investigating the origins of their local legend, the Blackwood Bugman. As you listen to it, however, it's five years in the future after one of the teens has gone missing, one has been confined to a mental institution, and the other has moved away. I'll leave it at that and let you guys experience the rest of the story for yourselves.

  • Patient Zero: This podcast is about as up my alley as you can get. As you'll probably learn from my nerdy rants about vaccines and epidemiology, I'm studying public health in college and this podcast is like the most interesting lecture I've ever listened to. The first season is focusing on the discovery of lyme disease and the struggles patients still face when trying to get diagnosed and treated. If you have an interest in the medical field, in how diseases get discovered, or in epidemiological investigations, you'll probably enjoy this podcast.


 

Those are my plans for the month! What are you guys reading? Watching? Listening to? Share with me in the comments below!


6 views1 comment
bottom of page